“Well, what if there is no tomorrow? There wasn’t one today.”

I LOVE holidays!  Big holidays, weird holidays, any kind of holiday!  Yesterday was Groundhog Day.  I never remember the significance of seeing the shadow or not. I simply can’t keep it straight.  But we celebrate anyway!  What is a holiday without some special food?  Yesterday I had a whole crew of helplers making this cute little treat.

groundhog day collage

Then we rounded out the day watching Groundhog Day with Bill Murray.  Hilarious!  Annoying so we only watch once a year but we sure do enjoy it .  We missed watching it last year and I think it was even funnier this year!  Here are some of my favorite lines:

  • This is one time where television really fails to capture the true excitement of a large squirrel predicting the weather.
  • This is pitiful. A thousand people freezing their butts off waiting to worship a rat.
  • Psychiatrist: That’s an unusual problem, Mr. Connors. Uh, Most of my work is with couples, families. I have an alcoholic now.   Phil: Well you went to college, right? I mean, it wasn’t veterinary psychology, was it? Didn’t you take some kind of course that covered this stuff?     Psychiatrist: Yeah, sort of, I guess. Uh, abnormal psychology.     Phil: So, what do I do?    Psychiatrist: I think we should meet again. How’s tomorrow for you?[Phil begins punching himself in the head through pillow]  Psychiatrist: Is that not good?
  • Phil: Do you ever have d?jà vu, Mrs. Lancaster?
    Mrs. Lancaster: I don’t think so, but I could check with the kitchen.
  • Phil: Isn’t there any hot water?
    Mrs. Lancaster: No, there wouldn’t be today.
    Phil: No, of course not…
  • Phil: It’s the same things your whole life. “Clean up your room!”, “Stand up straight!”, “Pick up your feet!”, “Take it like a man!”, “Be nice to your sister!”, “Don’t mix beer and wine, ever!”. Oh yeah — “Don’t drive on the railroad tracks!”
    Gus: Eh, Phil… That’s one I happen to agree with.
  • Piano Teacher: Not bad… Mr. Connors, you say this is your first lesson?
    Phil: Yes, but my father was a piano mover, so…
  • [Phil drives a truck off a cliff] He might be ok. [explosion] Well, no, probably not now.
  • If you’re gonna eat steak, get some sharper teeth, alright?

And now for the one we use all year long:

  • Watch out for that first step – it’s a doozie

One thought on ““Well, what if there is no tomorrow? There wasn’t one today.”

Leave a comment